Dating and Relationships while a resident.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RussianJoo

Useless Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year medical student and I am single. I don't have time to be in a serious relationship right now and a lot of the girls I go out with don't want to be in a relationship with someone who's as busy as me. Doing well in the wards is important to me and I often stay an hour or two extra to help the team out, I also spend all weekdays reading and going to the gym or sleeping, if I am not at the hospital. My free time right now is basically just on the weekends, and I don't think I'll have more free time once I become a resident. I have also noticed that a lot of the residents and even fellow students are already married or engaged to be married. So my question is am I doomed to be single until I finish residency? It seems like if you don't have a significant other by now it's almost impossible to meet someone. I eventually want to get married and have a family but just don't see how I will have time for that.

Anyone else in my situation? Anyone start a residency while being single and now in a successful serious relationship? I know that I can always date residents or nurses but how many of you have actually met someone from a non-medical profession?

all comments are welcome, and than you in advance for the replies.

Members don't see this ad.

The answer is called internet dating my friend. You can meet people during residency. Internet dating just helps things happen more efficiently, because it's very difficult to find the time to get out and meet folks the old fashioned way. good luck!

Reactions: 1 user