DAT Retake, 18 AA to 24 AA: Scores Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

narine

Reaction score
Hi there! I just wanted to post a breakdown of my DAT scores and some notes in case they help anyone.

I took it twice: the first time in the summer of 2021 (between my sophomore and junior year of college) using DAT Bootcamp (Pro, $497); and the second time in the fall of 2022 using DAT Booster (Premium, $299). I started studying at the beginning of June in 2021, took off one week for a wedding and took the test September 4th. In 2022, I started September 1st, took one out of all of the rest days when it was scheduled, and used the rest in two weeks for a vacation. The ten-week schedule I used had me ready to take the test around November 15th, and I used the extra two days for another vacation and for study. I don’t know if using all your rest days in one go for a vacation is advisable (see below for my perception of the schedule creators), but that’s what I did.

Background: I am a senior at Cornell University majoring in Biological Sciences and Classics. I enjoy biology, organic chemistry, and the humanities, but not general chemistry or mathematics. I earned about an A-B in my biology courses, B-C in organic chemistry, A in the humanities, C-D in general chemistry, and A-B in mathematics.

The #1 reason that I would say accounted for my increase would be sticking to the study schedule. The first time I studied for my DAT, I did it while shadowing, working, and hanging out with friends. If I stuck to the schedule, I would have realized that I didn’t have time for any of them; it is best to, if possible, spend your DAT study period doing nothing but DAT study, as daunting as that may seem. I took the fall semester of my senior year of college off for this, as I had other commitments the summer prior.