DAT Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yaya2re

Reaction score
Hi everyone! First and foremost, I would like to thank everybody in this group for their breakdowns, information, advice, encouragement, etc… I truly couldn’t imagine going through these couple of months without being in this group and helping each other, so I thought I’d share my journey with this test.
A little bit of background, I graduated in chem in May 2022 with around a 3.67 GPA, and currently am working full time in a pharmaceutical lab as a research analyst. The last couple years in school were definitely tough after the shut down, and I developed bad habits including winging everything and studying the days before and even the days of exams. I felt I was learning nothing, being unproductive, and had minimal chances of research, activities, volunteering, and shadowing. I felt lost in what I wanted to do in my future, but I eventually fixated on this path after graduation and shadowing, then dentistry genuinely caught my interest. I started studying for the DAT in the middle of June, and overall it was about 9 weeks. It was a challenge to balance my work and studying at first since I was working 40 hours a week. The first 6 weeks I was coming back from work at 5:30, eating/resting, and studying for around 4-6 hrs depending on the schedule. I was constantly sleep deprived, which caused a cycle of napping after coming back from work, studying, then sleeping 3-4 hrs before work. Please do not do what I did if you have a busy schedule, it did me more harm than good, and try to stay as balanced as possible. Eventually I got my work reduced to ~24 hours a week the last few weeks, which fixed my lack of sleep and I was then able to properly focus on my weaknesses.