DAT Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vicky Kuprewicz

Reaction score
Hey guys! I just wanted to share how I studied for the DAT since I was pretty happy with my scores and wanted to help others get started with studying!

Scores:
AA: 23 / Bio: 23 / Organic Chemistry: 21 / General Chemistry: 22 / PAT: 23 / RC: 23 /QR: 24

My Timeline:
Personally, I started studying about two months before my exam but some people may need more or less time! I used DATBooster, which gives you a 10 week study guide, so I started off watching the videos and doing the practice questions they recommended. When I got closer to my exam date, I ended up making my own study schedule, and I would recommend doing this from the beginning once you get a grasp on what you want to focus on (videos, readings, notes, review questions). I think it’s best to personalize your study journey in order to get the most effective studying in.

At first, I spent about 3 to 4 hours a day studying since I was still at school. Since I decided to dedicate my winter break to studying, I would spend about 5 to 8 hours studying a day while I was at home. I really prioritized taking study breaks and tried to figure out what time of day I am most productive because there were days where I would study for 8 hours but retained very little since I wasn’t focused. Try not to treat your study plan as just a box to check off, make sure you actually understand the material!

Materials I Used: