DAT Breakdown - Scores, Testing, Advice, and more!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted765425

Hi everybody! I just took my DAT today, so I thought I would post about my experience and share my scores. This post is long, but SDN was really helpful to me while I was preparing for the test, so I want to give back! This was my first attempt at taking the DAT.

I will also talk about:
  1. How I studied and for how long
  2. What materials I used
  3. What test day was like
  4. General advice

My Scores:
PAT - 19
Quantitative Reasoning - 15 (ouch..)
Reading Comprehension - 21
Biology - 16 (also ouch...)
Chemistry - 22
Organic Chemistry - 19
Total Science - 18
Academic Average - 19

I wasn't really sure how to feel about my scores - the average scores of those accepted to dental school is about 19-20 AA, and the average score people get is about a 17 (according to DAT Bootcamp and other online sources). But I also know that some schools weigh certain parts of the DAT more than others, like your total science, reading comprehension, and PAT for example. I've heard that QR is looked at the least, but I'm not sure if that's completely true.

Since my overall GPA is a little lower (3.4) I was hoping to get into the 20 AA range to increase my chances of acceptance.… if I had done better on QR or Bio I probably would have made it into the 20’s! But oh well. I need to talk to my health professions advisor and see what they think about my scores and whether I should retake or not.

1. How I studied, and for how long: