~ DAT Breakdown (28AA | 27 TS | 21 PAT) ~

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ColoredSpectrum

Reaction score
Hey all, I took my test in August 2021 and I’m more than happy with my scores! Seeing everyone’s breakdowns really helped me figure out how to go about studying so I wanted to share some info as well. Before any of that though, I wanted to give some words of encouragement: I graduated from undergrad in 2016 and really struggled with the transition back into studying again. I burnt out several times studying for this test, constantly questioned my capability, and had to re-schedule my exam twice. Make sure you take time for your mental health and surround yourself with people who love and uplift you! Don’t use your breaks as an excuse to beat yourself up for not doing more. I had to take a break from fb a month before my test because I started using other people’s scores as a way to get myself down.

Also, for anyone who struggles with massive test anxiety like me, work on daily breathing exercises to center yourself before you take individual tests and get accustomed to subjecting yourself to reading under pressure. I brought breath mints and foam earplugs to the actual exam and spent most of my tutorial/break working on controlling my breathing and repeating affirmations to myself.

Before my test I only took one full-length practice (Bootcamp's FL #10). Here’s my breakdown and what I thought of how the resources I used compared to one another:

Resources Used:
  • Booster (main)
  • Bootcamp (last 2 weeks before my exam)
  • Chad’s videos through CourseSaver for my learning phase (GC/OC)
  • Destroyer as a supplemental (Bio only)

Timeline/Study Schedule:
  • I studied for ~3 months in total. I was off/on with lots of burnout phases for the first 2 months, which consisted of my learning phase. The last month I ramped up to 8 hours/day and 12 hours/day the last 2 weeks.