DAT Breakdown (24AA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dental566701

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just took the DAT on June 12, 2023 and scored a 24AA! I studied for about 3 months and only used DAT Bootcamp to prepare. Here are some of my takeaways!

DAT Scores.jpg

Perceptual Ability (23)
I found that in general, practice was very important for PAT. The keyhole and hole punch sub-sections were the most time consuming for me so leading up to the test, I practiced 15 questions a day in addition to the full exams and timed myself.
Quantitative Reasoning (23)
Again, practice is so important. I didn’t score as highly as I hoped on this and looking back, I should have spent more time reviewing questions I got wrong and watching explanation videos instead of hoping I would never see that type of question again.
Reading Comprehension (24)
This is definitely my most improved section. After watching the strategy videos on Bootcamp, the ‘Question Mapping’ method sounded pretty good to me. But for the first couple practice passages, I would take maybe 35 minutes per passage and get half the questions wrong. I was feeling pretty hopeless at this point, so I reconsidered the strategy that I was using. I spent the next passages testing out each strategy for feel and eventually found that the ‘Simple Method’ worked best. Ultimately, I was able to score between 22-27 on my practices and scored a 24 on the real test. This section is truly about finding what strategy works for YOU!
Biology (27)