DAT Breakdown (23AA/21PAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jefferson Summers

Reaction score
Hey y’all! I just took the DAT about a week ago and was super blessed to receive a 23 AA and 21 PAT. This is a complete breakdown of my studying process. I hope that this can be of help to anyone who is in a similar situation that I was in! I only used DAT Bootcamp to study and I studied for almost three months.

Actual Scores:
PAT: 21
QR: 22
RC: 26
BIO: 22
GC: 23
OC: 22
TS: 22
AA: 23

Breakdown:
I decided to take the DAT during the summer between my sophomore and junior years of college. I believe it is a great idea to study during this time frame for multiple reasons. First, you have plenty of time with no distractions. I dedicated my entire summer to just studying, which allowed me to keep it as a number one priority. Second, many of the topics were still fresh in my brain from my sophomore year of college, where I took both organic chemistry and biology. This made the studying process much easier, especially for orgo. Finally, taking the DAT early allowed me some extra buffer room for just in case if I were to get a score I was not satisfied with!

I began studying on May 10th and took the exam on August 5th. I followed Ari’s 2 Month study schedule while taking an extra day off each week. This allowed me to study from Monday-Friday and have a full weekend to rest. I would HIGHLY recommend this if possible. This truly kept me from going insane and gave my brain the break it needed! I studied for around 5 hours a day, but it would vary depending on what was on the checklist for that day. I would very rarely add on more for a day than what was already on the checklist! I would wake up at 7 each morning, have quiet time, and get started studying by around 8. My goal was to be done studying by around lunchtime each day, so that I could enjoy the rest of the day!

PAT: 23 (Bootcamp Range: 19-21)