cv/resume

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bambi

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not sure if this is the right place to ask but here goes- I'm a UK student thinking of applying for jobs in the US when the time comes. I know my cv is competitive for UK jobs but we are generally younger when we apply for jobs and have had less post-highschool education so I don't know if a bit less is expected from us. Basically I have no real idea what the average/above average US applicant has on their resume upon graduation? Obviously there is no point in me applying if my cv is way below the US standard so I was wondering what sort of stuff you guys have? I know you need a good USMLE score and all that, I'm just wondering about the other stuff. Do you all have research and publications? The main things I'm wondering about are; research, publications, audits, presentations, scholarships, prizes, teaching experience, extra curriculars and anything else you think is important. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Which specialt:thumbup:(ies) are you applying for?

For IMGs like yourself, board scores are very important. Number of years since graduation is too. Things like publications, etc. are good to have, more so for competitive specialties.

If I apply it will almost definitely be for neurosurgery. Like I said I know I need good scores, that sort of thing is not a problem. What I need to know about is the other stuff.