Currently in CRNA school & considering backtracking to make the switch to medical school. Am I crazy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SRNAtoMDmaybe

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Brief history: I was a horribly average high school student. My poor academic performance drove me nuts, so I viewed undergrad as a chance to prove to myself what I could accomplish. I graduated with a BSN, a 4.0 cGPA, and I was very involved in extracurriculars in my university. After graduation, I worked for 2 years in an ICU, and I recently started a Nurse Anesthesia program. I am 24-years-old.

Why? I always dreamed of going to medical school and working as a physician, but I lacked the confidence to make the decision to just go for it and decided that CRNA school would be my best option. I applied to CRNA school and told myself that if I was accepted, I would go. If not, I would more strongly consider a post-bacc premed program. As is apparent, I was accepted into the CRNA program and decided to attend; I am not convinced that I made the right choice. This program is not easy, but I am doing very well. I know that my ambition and the desire to devote my life to my profession is the only attribute that sets me apart from other students. I truly think that I could be happy with this career, but I do not anticipate my desire to attend medical school will ever go away. In 5 years, I don't want to be a 29-year-old CRNA who feels limited in his practice and hates himself for not taking a chance. There is also the other side of my brain (maybe the rational side) that scoffs at the idea of dropping out of CRNA school, taking pre-med courses & studying for the MCAT to hopefully be admitted into medical school at the age of 26-27 (the age that I would graduate from this CRNA program).