Current School Counseling student looking to change majors...Phd or MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

katm6510

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
As stated in my thread title, I am currently a school counseling student about to finish up my first year. A little bit of background information about myself: I have been in college, on and off, since 2009. It took me 7 years to get my undergrad degree in psychology; some of that was due to financial reasons, others due to personal medical issues such as surgery...I digress. I started out as an English major, but when I took my intro psych class during my first year of college, I was fascinated and decided to switch majors. Somewhere along the way, I decided I wanted to go into school counseling. I wanted to work with adolescents in a school environment, because I have always loved school and education, and I thought that this would be a great way to work in a school and combine it with psychology.
During the past few months, I have felt conflicted about this decision. I don't know if it's because I didn't do enough research on what school counselors actually do everyday but...it's really not what I was expecting, based on the course work I have already taken (intro class, group counseling, helping skills, etc.). I'm really much more interested in diagnosis and actually treating mental illness. The work I can do as a school counselor is very limiting, as I am learning.