Current Moonlighting Rates

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shownomercy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am starting this thread because I was hoping someone could guide me towards a site or study looking at the average rate for moonlighting in internal medicine in 2015. I am a 4th year chief resident credentialed as an attending. I know the offers vary from 40$ to 200$/Hr depending on the job and location. I am coming from Philadelphia and my current hospital is only offering 50$/Hr pre-tax to do admissions, cover observation unit, cover non-teaching simultaneously.

Thank you for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
$50 per hr pretax sounds jacked but I know nothing
I guess I appreciate now a place I interviewed that had moonlighting for $1000 night for community hospital nice suburb overnight mostly in bed
they told me residents were doubling their salary or adding $20K to their gross
not to put salt in the wound or anything

Reactions: 1 users
$50/hour is only worth it if you can do the whole thing sitting down and not talking to anyone else. I wouldn't put my license on the line for that rate.

I have been paid anywhere from $65 (I only did that twice) to $125 an hour as a resident/fellow. Extra coverage in my own clinic (on a day or at a location we don't normally cover) is $175/h.

haha @Winged Scapula that's hilarious
thanks for the perspective on physician wage shrinkage

on my contract the listed hourly wage (I don't know why it said that, as a resident you can't really question the contract just sign it) was $30/hr
(one of our residents did a financial presentation at noon report, very well regarded by the faculty, that did the math with our salary and found it was actually $11/hr after tax and assuming 60 hr work weeks, which you know, is what we actually work :rolleyes:)