Curious about MS in Medical Physics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RS7777

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize if this isn't the correct forum, but I couldn't find a more appropriate one.

I'm wondering if there's anyone out there that knows about the field of Medical Physics and what it would take to make a leap into that career. I graduated 4 years ago with a Biology degree. Ironically, I ended up eventually working in IT (I was good at Biology, but it wasn't my strongest subject). My stats were pretty good but not outstanding, 3.4 Cumulative GPA, about 3.4 Science plus Math (A in Physics 1 & 2, A in Calc I, II, and multi-variable).

I've googled a lot of info about the field and it sounds very interesting. I've always been interested in Health care and science, and I've always been a very technically oriented, analytical person. A behind the scenes person who works closely with the more technical aspects of the radiation machines sounds like a good fit for me.

Is a career change into Medical Physics practical? Knowing what you know about me, what would be the next steps I need to take? How challenging is it to get accepted into an M.S. program (Ph.D. seems a little too daunting. I don't want to be in school forever). I'm assuming I'd need to take a number of additional classes. Is it a saturated field or is there a lot of opportunity?

The bad stuff: I don't have any research/work experience in anything health or science related. I haven't kept in contact with any of my old professors and all of my science classes were in huge lecture centers (so there's zero chance any of them remember me). While I did get A's in both physics classes, they were not Calculus based.

I appreciate any help!

Members don't see this ad.

I sent you a message.

Since there isn't a medical physics forum, I guess this is as good of a place as any.