Critical Care Nurse taking Postbac Courses? How does this experience look for Admins

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RN-2-Medicine

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I just got a RN position on a CTICU unit at the #1 Hospital in New York . This unit gets all the open heart surgeries, CABG, vents, ECHMO, etc. I'm super stoked and super humbled. I was a med-surg nurse for 4 years prior to the switch.

For my Nurses turned to Physicians, how much has your nursing experience impacted your pre-med journey? I could imagine it could only help.

Current Pre-Med situation :
By the time I matriculate (assuming I apply 2023 cycle and accepted for the class of 2028) I will have approx. 2,500 hours of ICU nursing experience and 6,500 hours of med surge nursing experience. If I stay on the my current path I'd have a undergrad gpa of 3.38 and a post-bac gpa of 3.75. I'd pay for a good MCAT prep that gaureentees a 510+ (money isn't an issue I don't mind shelling out the money for the preparation of the biggest determinant into med school) 27 y/o URM from NYC

Share your stories current and former pre-meds !

Members don't see this ad.