CRC/Research Position or Teaching + PT PCT/CNA during gap years?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhoenixRising77

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm looking for some advice -- unfortunately, this might be long so I apologize in advance.

I graduated earlier this month with a BS in chemistry. I thought I had a job lined up as a CRC at a major research university which is an hour commute from home (not ideal), and HR was merely waiting for proof of graduation. However, three weeks after I sent my final transcript, I learn that I am now being considered against other candidates which is frustrating and means that I might not get a position here. I started looking for other jobs but I've been rethinking applying for CRC positions as most will be an hour commute + not all CRC positions will count as clinical experience.

Now on to the second part. I have considered multiple gap year jobs over the past few months and teaching high school chemistry has been one of them. Most of my family has been a teacher at some point as well, and tutoring/TAing in the past has been something I have enjoyed. In my state, I could probably find a high school chemistry teaching job close to home (there is a high demand) for the upcoming school year. I all but have my CNA license, and I could work a shift as a CNA/PCT Saturday/Sunday once a week to get clinical experience while teaching and work more shifts over the summer.