Course load advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Phoenix.

Emdee Jaydee
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a lawyer, but will be going back to school to satisfy my prereqs for med school. I am thinking of satisfying them by taking Bio and Chem over next summer (2006), and Physics and Organic Chem next year (2006-2007), with the MCAT in April '07. I will quit working before the summer starts in order to concentrate on the classes. Does this sound feasible, or not such a great idea? I'll be taking the classes through Loyola's premed postbac program, and will start volunteering in the ER of a local hospital in two weeks.

My concerns are primarily if taking two hard science classes over the summer (with labs) might be too much, and/or if it's a bad idea to be taking both Physics and Org (which I've heard are quite rough) while studying for the MCAT.

[If my plan above is a bad idea, I could take Physics this year while I'm working (it's the only evening class available), but I've heard that the prof teaching the class is horrible, and I'm not altogether keen with starting this process with a horrible experience. But if I did take Physics this year, I could just take Chem over the summer and Bio & Org Chem over the next year. The final alternative would be to quit working at the end of this year, and start with Bio I and Chem I for Spring 06, Physics I for the first half of the summer, Bio II and Chem II at the second half of the summer, Physics II and Org I for fall '06 and just Org II for spring '07 while I'll be studying for the MCAT.]

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Or, if anyone wants to share how they plotted their courses out and what they learned from the experience, that'd be great. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.