Could I get into med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreMed206!

Reaction score
Ok, so I am a junior in Undergrad (I go to a small public university in NYC) I have 3 semesters left. I started undergrad off with a 1.8 GPA and the following semester wasn't much better, it was probably like a 2.8 (cumulative). It's not like I just didn't care - my father went into the hospital the day before classes started and died in early / mid-November. In December of that same year, my great aunt died. In the following February, my aunt sued me because she was greedy and didn't want to give me my inheritance from my great aunt and that is still going on. I've gotten my grades up and have had pretty much straight As with the occasional A- or B+ and the max cGPA I could have would be a 3.51 and, sGPA would be a 3.6. I haven't taken my MCAT yet but every practice exam I have taken was a 518 or better. I decided to be a doctor relatively late so I am going to take a gap year in addition to the extra semester ill have since I am graduating early. That time I plan on volunteering in a hospital and hopefully finding someone to do research with. Currently, I have 200+ volunteer hours as a teaching assistant and I did 3 weeks of collecting and handing out masks due to the COVID-19 pandemic( it was a solo project so I don't know how anyone could verify it). Honestly, do I have a shot at medical school? I'm not aiming for NYU or Hopkins or anything like that. My top choices are Dartmouth, SUNY downstate, SUNY upstate, Mount Sinai, University of Iowa, Quinnipiac, Mayo (MN), and Tufts, any advice would really help!

Members don't see this ad.

You need to accumulate 50 hours of physician shadowing (including primary care) and 200+ hours of clinical volunteering or employment with patient contact before you apply. Where you apply will depend on your actual MCAT score. Post your score here in the future.