Coping with sleep deprivation for M3 year/residency/beyond

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted854547

My clerkship year is starting this fall, and I'm hoping to solicit advice on how to best deal with the inevitable lack of sleep that I'll have to face. For med students who have gone through clerkship year, current residents, and attendings, what tips do you have for those of us to perform well and cope with lack of sleep next year?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a current medical student, but I do have some tips for night shifts, - i worked in a healthcare facility where i would pull a 16 hour shift straight, and i would end up being up for 24-36 hours straight (from Sunday morning doing stuff, then pulling a 16 hour shift till 8 am on Monday, and then going straight to school till about 5 pm). So one thing i figured out, - it helps if you switch activities every hour or two. It tricks your brains and helps you stay focused. During slow times, when my patients did not need me, i went through school material, - if my brains were still fresh, i went through new material. If i was already tired, i would do practice questions. Frequent snacks and drinks help, - fruit, nuts, water, coffee, carbs. 2 am-5 am were always the hardest times, so i tried to schedule something that would require me to get up and frequently walk: for example, restock supply closet, or count medications, or something like that.

Hope this helps a bit. Cannot give you study tips yet, sorry.

Reactions: 2 users
You just adapt to a lower amount of sleep because you have to. You'll do it as all that come before you have. Coffee, snack trips at 2 am, and other other things you come up with will help you.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)