Contingent Suicidality-a protective factor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whopper

Former jolly good fellow
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I posted about an article that researched this a few months ago, but I couldn't find it.

I'm studying for my boards, and turns out a copy of the article was stuck in one of my old books I was referencing.

Found it online after finding the physical article.
http://psychservices.psychiatryonline.org/cgi/content/full/53/1/92

And this one...but this one you got to pay money for it.
http://ps.psychiatryonline.org/cgi/reprint/47/8/871

Patients in the contingently suicidal group were more likely to have diagnoses of substance dependence and antisocial personality disorder, to be unmarried, to be homeless, and to have legal difficulties. Patients in the noncontingently suicidal group were more likley to have a diagnosis of major depression.

Overall, seven confirmed suicides and three highly suspected suicides were identified. All ten occurred in the noncontingently suicidal group. Among the 137 patients in the study, 20 died from any cause, including suicide, during the seven-year period. Of these, 18 were in the noncontingent group, whereas only two patients in the contingent group died, and their deaths were from causes other than suicide.

Something to think about next time you got someone in the ER saying with a smile on their face, "if you don't give me a place to stay tonight, I'll kill myself. If I happen to survive, I'll sue you. Now get me my sandwich bitch.

Of course despite the above data....
The findings reported here should be considered tentative, given the methodological limitations of the study. The sample is too small for definitive conclusions to be drawn.