Contacts

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Supernumerary

A Kinder, Gentler Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just went to the OD yesterday to get contacts. I put them in this morning (they've been in about 45 min.) and my vision is worse with them than without them.

She said she didn't have time to do a full exam so she just "converted" my glasses Rx. Is this acceptable? I mentioned the blurriness yesterday and she said my eyes just needed time to adjust. I wore them all day yesterday too. How long does it take before you know you just have the wrong Rx. My vision right now is inadequate for the things I have to do in dental school. Should I insist on a new exam?

P.S. She charged me for an exam yesterday anyway.

Members don't see this ad.

Dear Supernumerary,

As a dentist, I am quite surprised at your last statement. You should know that despite whatever you do for a patient, if they still are complaining about a problem after your treatment, I doubt if you would do it for "free", withdraw your insurance claim so that the patient can reuse their benefit elsewhere or refund their cash.

With that aside, it is standard procedure to "convert" spectacle power to contact lens power. If your equvivalent spherical power is greater than + or - 4 diopters the 13.5mm idfference between the plane of the spectacles and the contact lens is aobut 0.25 difference. In addition you may have a small degree of astigmastism which may not be corrected by the type of contact lens that you are wearing now. Therefore, you will see less in your soft ocntact lenses than in your spectacles.

But wait, there are several other reasons, but I'll go into those only if need be.

Yours truly,
Richard Hom, OD,FAAO
San Mateo, CA
Originally posted by Supernumerary
"...She said she didn't have time to do a full exam so she just "converted" my glasses Rx. Is this acceptable? ..."