This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted918398

Hi everyone,

Thank you for stopping by, and I'd really appreciate your opinion and insight on my issue. I feel like I have to explain a lot about my background in order to help you guys see my dilemma.

My whole life, I knew I wanted to work in healthcare--I enjoyed every subject about health and science in school, and did well for the most part. Then I went to undergrad as a biology major (considering pharmacy), but halfway through, was diagnosed with anxiety and depression that greatly hindered my ability to do well in this field. I became a bit of a hypochondriac, unable to really handle anything with physical illness nor the stress that a job in healthcare would entail, and this hindered my ability to stay in the field. I ended up switching to psychology as a major, which was a subject I also enjoyed and surprisingly excelled at. After I graduated, I took a year off to better handle my illness, and also explore other career options outside of my initial "dream" in healthcare. As much as I love psychology, I know I don't want to be a therapist or psychologist.

Today, I've learned how to cope with my anxiety, and in the beginning of this year 2018, I decided to try my hand in healthcare again. I figured to try going towards pharmacy again, and started a class in microbiology in the spring semester of a community college. I've found that, although I greatly enjoy the subject (way more than I thought I would!), it is incredibly challenging even though it is the only class I am taking. I also visited a hospital recently, and just found myself to feel so uneasy and unsure if I could enjoy and excel at a job in this setting.