Condescending lab mentor—what should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

semolina95

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a rising junior undergraduate student working on a research project at a medical school lab. I just started a few weeks ago and have enjoyed my work so far. I like what I've learned and I look forward to doing my work each day.

The problem is that my mentor is very condescending. She is a postdoc who leads the project and I'm the only undergrad in the lab. When I ask questions, she belittles me and gets frustrated. When I don't ask questions, she yells at me for not asking when I'm unsure. She complains about how stressful and competitive academia is. She makes very passive aggressive comments and throws her arms up in the air when she gets annoyed.

My PI is very friendly but I know that he will ultimately ask her about how I'm doing in the lab when I receive a recommendation letter from him, which is a scary thought. I feel upset because I am coming into this lab for over 30 hours a week without getting paid just to work on this project, and I am being belittled each day. I don't want to quit because then I would be wasting the summer and it would raise a red flag on my medical school application. Can someone lend any advice? I'm really sorry if this is the wrong place to post this..

Members don't see this ad.

You're in a tough spot but I think it's a good idea to address this early on before you get in too deep.