Concerns with Podiatry Profession

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Darby_O'Gill

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am seriously considering podiatry. But, I have a few concerns that a few of you might be able to clear up. I was a pre-dental student so I was comparing the two. With dentistry, and some medical professions, nobody can really trespass on your territory. For example, you wont go to your family doctor for a root canal. But if you break your ankle I'd say that most people would go to and MD without even thinking about it. With podiatry it seems that everything that you do can be done by an orthopedic surgeon, etc. So, do you guys expect podiatrists to ever be phased out by other more visible medical specialties? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Darby_O'Gill said:
I am seriously considering podiatry. But, I have a few concerns that a few of you might be able to clear up. I was a pre-dental student so I was comparing the two. With dentistry, and some medical professions, nobody can really trespass on your territory. For example, you wont go to your family doctor for a root canal. But if you break your ankle I'd say that most people would go to and MD without even thinking about it. With podiatry it seems that everything that you do can be done by an orthopedic surgeon, etc. So, do you guys expect podiatrists to ever be phased out by other more visible medical specialties? Thanks in advance.

Darby_O'Gill,