Concerns before entering fellowship, any help would be appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JerseyDoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

My current situation has left me in a real predicament and has been torturing me the past few months. I'm currently in my last year of Internal Medicine residency, and scheduled to start a Pulm/CC fellowship at my home institution this upcoming July. I enjoyed my CCM rotations 1st and 2nd year, and always thought about going into that field, but never applied for the fellowship...the plan was to be a medicine hospitalist or maybe go to the outpatient setting and do primary care.

After the match, the Pulm/CCM dept approached me about a fellowship spot to start as early as this July. I grappled over it for a few weeks to a month, and ultimately took the position. I figured CCM would allow me to practice Internal Medicine on steroids, without having to deal with all the social BS, less arguments with the ED regarding admissions etc, while Pulmonary would provide me an escape from the hospital and regular hours.

Since that time unfortunately all I have been doing is going back and forth regarding my decision to take the spot. Many have stated that there is not much demand for Pulmonary outpatient and my life will end up being primarily in the ICU, which sounds horrible. Too stressful, and I fear it will give me less time with my family. I'm not worried about the fellowship itself (actually a fairly relaxed fellowship since there are 9 fellows total), but more so about my schedule and lifestyle after fellowship. It has driven me crazy, I havent been able to focus at work, and also havent been able to fully enjoy my time off at home with my family. My poor wife has had to hear about my indecisions every day for the last 2+ months.