Concerns about getting a job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorWannaBe

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently applying to medical school and am looking for a job since I am not a student anymore. I'm hoping to find a job as an ER tech in a hospital, nothing too special. Can someone give me their opinion on a few of these concerns of mine:

1) I volunteered in the same ER last year, so some people might remember me and know that I want to go to medical school. Should I hide this fact if I get a job interview or even if I start working there? If they know that I might not be there more than 6 months, they probably won't bother hiring me. However, at this point I've only had one medical school interview, so I might not be going to medical school next fall and am looking for backups.

2) I have a college degree already in a nonscience field so I'm sure they will ask me why I'm applying for a low-paying entry level position in a totally different field. Is it ok to just say that I am interested in a career in healthcare and want to get some experience working in the field before I decide what area to pursue (again hiding the fact that I want to be a doctor)?

3) I've seen a lot of posts here saying that it is dishonest not to tell an employer that you may be leaving in less than a year, especially if they put a lot of money into training you. I imagine that for these low-level hospital jobs they don't spend a lot of resources training people. Should I feel unethical about possibly leaving in less than a year?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Honesty is the best policy. Why not just explain your situation, with full disclosure. Then they can decide if they want to hire/train you or not, given your anticipated short tenure.

Well, I prefer honesty as well but when you need to pay your rent, well honesty is a variable thing.