Competitiveness for Academic General Surgery Heavy Hitters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlazerMS

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time posting in SDN, so please let me know if I'm breaking any rules.

Question for all of the gen surg applicants here. Obviously as a third year medical student, it is too early for me to have be assessed accurately as an applicant. But I wanted to see what you guys thought my chances would be to match into a very strong (training and prestige) gen surg academic program.

Story: Wanted to do ortho surgery all of 2nd and 3rd year. Still very much on the table but starting to realize how important academic medicine is for me and also that gen surg has a lot of cool subspecialties. Talked with the chief of surgery very recently and am starting to shift over to prepare myself for possibility of matching into gen surg over ortho.

School: Top 35~50 (whatever it may mean in different rankings)
Pre-clinical: Pass/fail (but was P1 for what it's worth)
Clinical: first 3 rotations (1 honor, 2 high pass) <- none of those surgery
Step 1: 239
Step 2: taking it early and hoping for a jump

AOA: too early to know but as far as I know I do qualify to apply.

Research: A LOT of ortho research. 3 first author papers submitted. 4 more submitted where I'm 2~4th author. At least a couple more planned to be submitted where I'm 2~4th author. On 2 more projects about to be started. 13 abstracts accepted to national conference (this is anywhere from 1st to whatever n-th author. Was told by PI it doesn't matter. But maybe it does). 15 abstracts accepted to regional conference (some overlap, maybe like 5, with the national conference. Also anywhere from 1st to n-th author). 1 local abstract accepted.
In touch with trauma surgery research group at our main hospital to get some gen surg related research. Setting up meeting date as we speak.