Community college grades back to haunt me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nater44

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
In the mid 90's I took a some community college classes to kill time while working for the fire department. I paid very little attention to the classes. I got a D in intro to speech and a D- in beginning vollyball...among other gems. When I got interested in medicine and transferred to a university I did O.K.... 3.3 science 3.5 non-science. Any suggestions on how to explain away these skeletons in my closet to adcoms? :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

One more question Drmom, will they toss my app in the trash can if the community college grades drop my gpa? Will I even get a chance to explain to them. Thanks for the help. I'm new to all this.

Members don't see this ad :)
No. There are many applicants just like you who get in every year.

Did you re-take speech or any of the other classes you did poorly in? If you did, on the osteopathic application system only the most recent grade will be counted in your GPA. Maybe that'll help make things look better.

Otherwise do well on the MCAT, get good LORs, spend some time shadowing a couple of DOs (and get good DO LORs). Also, get your app in as early as possible.

Are you applying this year?

why even bother listing it? just don't put it down and don't have them send a transcript to aacom or amcas. unless you did your pre-meds there at the same school...