MPH Columbia vs. Yale vs. JHU MPH in Epi

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

desi_ENFP

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
just wanted to ask those who are in either of these programs or know of people who are to elaborate on Columbia vs. Yale's vs. JHU MPH program. I know that this is probably a very individualized decision based on career needs, etc. so I've provided my goals as well as what I've heard about each program. If anybody has better insight, that would be greatly appreciated.

-Things specific to my program needs/interests/goals
*My programs are accelerated programs (1-year long). I have a professional degree already, but would probably be looking at jobs that are more public health specific.
*Preferred areas of work would include: NYC, DC, Boston/New England, SF Bay Area
*Interests are in epidemiology with a foundation in health disparities/racial disparities.
*Post graduate interests include working in a public health department capacity (including city, state, federal-maybe the NIH and FDA eventually :)) or a hospital affiliated with an academic institution
*Things I'm looking for in an education: good classes, but more so prefer good opportunities such as research, involvement, TA, work-study, student activism, etc.

-Columbia Pros for me: love the idea of living in NYC-seems like there will be lots of learning/networking/activism opportunities both within and outside the university. Good name in public health. Good Epi department and areas of specialization in health disparities available. Good as far as job placement goes. NYC is a post-grad location of preference as well.