Columbia Post-Bac Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

4thCupofCoffee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, this is my first post on here. I graduated in 2012 with a bachelors in English literature (GPA of 3.5) from a state school in Washington. I completed an associates degree (GPA 0f 2.7, yikes) before transferring. Since graduating I worked in Spain as a teaching assistant for a year and am now fluent in Spanish. I decided teaching wasn't for me and changed to technical writing.

I come from a low income family with substance abuse problems. This is a major reason why my grades suffered. However, I'm now emotionally stable, happy as ever, and determined to study medicine. This was my childhood dream but my family and I never thought I could hack it. Ideally, I'd like to end up in psychiatry.

What are my chances of getting into Columbia's postbac program? My combined GPA is about 3.2, more or less. I also studied abroad twice. Doubt that matters but I'd like to present myself as a multifaceted person who can pull through if admitted, because that's how I currently feel about myself.

Any advice is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Agree with gonnif - I have lot of friends who did Columbia's postbacc program and say that it really is cutthroat. If you make it through, you're in amazing shape, but you also have a very high likelihood of ruining your chances.

Reactions: 1 users
Columbia also keeps tight control over who is eligible for a committee letter by making high GPA cut offs. With its reputation, not having a Columbia committee letter is a big red flag. Thus, Columbia somewhat inflates its acceptance rate by effectively preventing weaker candidates from applying

I suggest student consider these factors when choosing a program