College GPA - Can I still make it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SDN

Welcome to SDN
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
I'm currently a third year Biochemistry Student, and my pre-med path has so far been rocky and I'm in the point of my life wondering what I should do currently and after I graduate from university.

I spent my first two years at an university away from home, and due to personal reasons, my grades really suffered, especially pre-med requisite courses (listed below):

Gen Chem I B
Gen Chem II B+
Gen Chem III B
Bio Lab (2 units) A-
Gen Bio I B-
Gen Bio II B
Gen Bio III C
Ochem I (Took it three times) D, Withdrawal, B
Ochem II B-
Calc II B
Stats C
Current Cumulative GPA 3.047

After my first two years at this university, I realized this was not the right place for me, so I decided to transfer to another university closer to home. I'm also re-evaluating my study habits, since I'm a college rower, I have to wake up really early in the morning for practice, which can partially cause my grades to suffer.

I have not taken any chemistry lab courses yet so as Ochem III. I am currently taking upper division courses such as Biochem I, Intermediate Inorganic Chemistry, and Genetics. I am aiming for A-/ B+ for these courses. However, I am still really worried about my bad academic history.

I will be taking the MCATs around April, and I am studying hard for the exam. My goal is to go to a M.D. school, and will always be. I spent the past two years volunteering at the hospital to shadow a M.D. and I know that's the job I want. However, my grades really worry me, and I'm starting to consider P.A. school now because I'm scared I might not ever raise my GPA. I am also thinking of retaking these courses after graduation but my advisor told me I could not retake any of these courses if I got a C- grade or above.

Thank you all again for reading my post. Any advice helps. I greatly appreciate it.