College Difficulty

FM7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
You always hear people regard certain schools as "hard", but why is this so? I understand professors are different and that students may fare better at more competitive schools, but shouldn't the material be the same? How do you know if a school might be too "hard" for you to handle? Do you believe anyone can succeed in a class as long as they put in the effort or are some classes simply too difficult for certain individuals? I guess it's good to go somewhere where you know you will be challenged as long as you give it your all, right?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm studying for an exam so I will give a short answer. Although the material might generally be the same, professor can make exams easy or hard. There are many ways to test on the same material. Personally, I think if you put the time forth and enjoy the material, you can do anything.

Another huge factor in this is if your school goes grade curving. At my CC they didn't do curves, and so the level of work you put into it had a direct correlation to the grade you got, but at my university, they curve, so you're really only competing against everyone else. It's a mixed bag, and doesn't necessarily mean it's easier, with the curve professors can make tests as hard as they want, because they don't expect anyone to get all of the questions correct. Also some professors are "harder" than others based on their partial credit policies on grading, how much busy work they assign, that kind of thing. Let me just leave you with that fact that on multiple occasions with curved tests I've gotten below 65% on tests and still have gotten A's on them.

Members don't see this ad :)