CMG Reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

plasticookies

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey All,

I'd appreciate your input on my situation:

I'm a Canadian medical grad (CMG) graduated in 2015, have now gone unmatched twice. I initially tired to match to anesthesia, but had a change of heart and tried matching to PM&R this past cycle. Long story short, PM&R was ridiculously competitive this year in Canada and I guess I just didn't match up to the other candidates. I don't believe I have any red flags in my application. If anything, I think my application is pretty decent, but I have ****ty luck and poor timing. I did a few electives after graduating, so my last clinical experience was Dec 2015.

This whole thing has been a nightmare, but I think I want to try one last application cycle. I'd like to open up my options and apply to the US in the upcoming cycle, but I'm concerned about the timeline.

My plan is to write Step 1 by end of June and step 2 CK by mid-August. I presume that my score will be out mid-Sept, so I won't miss too many programs that are sending out early invites. Does this make sense? If I end up having to push back the Step 2 CK, do you think that I'll have any chance at all of getting interviews for PM&R, family med, or prelim programs? Also, I definitely won't be taking Step 2 CS until October. How much will this affect my application?

Does this sound like a realistic plan at all?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

no i think it means that there aren't a lot of CMGs here.

for the US part, the timings for I and CK are fine but would do CS earlier so the scores are in by the time ERAS is open, meaning June or earlier.

but re-evaluate..you didn't match twice...you have red flags...

but re-evaluate..you didn't match twice...you have red flags...

True. I don't think I can reasonably get CS in before applications open this year though.