This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Apple Sauce

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in this predicament where I am required to take microbiology as a pre-req course at CSUDH. The only problem is that I graduated recently from my University without taking that class. The counselor at CSUDH told me that microbiology would required a three-semester wait period. I was hoping to try to finish the program in two years including the clinical portion (which takes a total of one year to complete).

The counselor also told me an alternative solution, which was to apply to UCBx for the medical microbiology and to take a general microbiology with lab class at a community college. I've heard a lot of negative comments about the UCBx online program and could only do the online since I live pretty far from Berkely. I was thinking of taking general microbiology at a UCI for this summer (lecture only) and take the general microbiology with lab at a community college for Fall 2017, rather than wait 3 semester for it.

By the way, I was told that 4-year universities do not accept microbiology from a community college but for some reason the lab portion is acceptable (from what I understood)

Would that work? Or is there another way to be accredited for this class?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

By the way, I was told that 4-year universities do not accept microbiology from a community college but for some reason the lab portion is acceptable (from what I understood)
Plenty of universities offer Microbiology with Lab online these days. Pricey (about $2.5k including lab kit), but fast. Take a look at Thomas Edison State University, Excelsior College, American Public University, all regionally accredited. Plus Thomas Edison State University (and a few others) have new semester starts each month so far less waiting.