Clinical hours but no volunteering or shadowing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juiscurious

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if it was okay to only have paid clinical hours? I’m a CNA and I work full time while also being full time pre-med in college so when i’m not working or going to class i’m studying/doing work which means I don’t have time to shadow or volunteer. Will this affect me when I apply?

Members don't see this ad.

I’m also going on a medical brigade with global brigades to guatemala, so that’s unpaid. Do I need non clinical volunteer hours?

You don't need clinical volunteer hours and the medical brigade is not likely to impress adcoms (there are ethical issues involved in these types of short-term service projects).

You do need shadowing, but only 50 hours or so that you can spread over a year or more. If you are interested in medicine because of the aspect of helping people, some adcoms will want to see that you spend some of your free time (maybe a half day a month, about 50 hours/yr) helping people in your community using skills you already have.

Being a full-time student and a full-time employee (in a role that doesn't really allow studying while on the job as is the case with some desk jobs) is a tough row to hoe so you might want to think about ways that you can decrease your responsibilities on one side or the other... or figure on needing to take a gap year (or two) during which you might be working but not going to school so that you'd free up many hours for shadowing and volunteering.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Do you think I shouldn’t put the brigade when I apply? I didn’t know there was issues with it.

Do you think I shouldn’t put the brigade when I apply? I didn’t know there was issues with it.