This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ranana

Zanzan
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! This is the first post I'm writing although I have been lurking around SDN for a few years now. I'm in a bit of a situation and would really appreciate some advice.

I'm currently a 4th year medical student in Ireland, and would like to apply for the Ophth match when I graduate. Currently preparing for boards. I'm at a stage where I'd like to gain some USCE next summer in Ophth, however I have been met by a few obstacles.

Firstly, most places I have contacted seem to only offer Observerships for foreign medical students- I don't know if this is an Ophthalmology thing or what but I haven't been able to find many places willing to accept students like me for a clinical elective

Secondly, since I know networking and contacts plays a huge role in securing electives, I have contacted many Ophthalmologists I personally know in the US and their institutions have also only offered me Observerships- I'm talking big places like Wills Eye and Bascom Palmer

I'm getting quite frustrated as I know Ophthalmology is extremely difficult to match into in the first place, and US Program Directors like to read about an applicant's clinical skills in a LOR and don't view Observerships as clinical experience as by definition they are not.... However since this is Ophthalmology and I can't really participate in patient care anyway is it okay for me to accept these Observerships, especially since they are at such big and well-known institutions, and would Program Directors look upon them favorably or would I be selling myself short and should look harder for "Clinical Electives"?

Your advice on this would be muchhhhh appreciated!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: