Clinical Education

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

_FNG_

PT, DPT, OCS
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So this is more of a rant than anything but I'd love to get others comments/opinions on the matter. I'm starting to get frustrated because I feel that my didactic education has prepared me well to provide therapy and my clinical rotations should allow me to hone my skills but this isn't the case (yet). The CI I'm working with is knowledgeable and has a great rapport with their patinets but their methods are so different from what I've been taught that its like I'm a noob. I'm sure I'll be able to pick up what I like about their techniques and disregard what I don't but I just want to do it my way because most of my ideology is cemented in current research. I hate when I'm asked what I'd do just to be told "well that would work but..." without justification of one method over another. This rotation will be tough in terms of accepting my role as a subordinate and teaching when I'm a little skeptical.
Has anyone else experienced similar situations and if so how did you handle it professionally?

/rant

edit: I'm a fool for thinking I know it all without being open to other methods and should be more receptive to my CIs instruction.

Members don't see this ad.

FNG -

I get your frustration. Our profession has been plagued by non-evidenced based practice for many years, with a significant portion of therapists attaching themselves to treatment paradigms that border on the absurd (myofascial release, craniosacral, etc.).