Clinic volume at the 9th month mark. Need help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docodissi

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am a relatively inexperienced pain physician that’s a couple years out of fellowship. I joined this hospital-based clinic that is being run by a physician run organization that owns several different hospital-based clinics throughout the state but not hospital employed. I am in Ohio. I am at the nine month mark of this job and totally this clinic has been open for 2 1/2 years. I feel like volumes have dropped but don’t think were very high in general at least for me, I’m not really sure why. I am in a rural setting and there is One other Pain Clinic about half an hour away that is completely private. There are a couple other big health systems that have a tendency to keep referrals within themselves so it’s tough. I’m not really sure what to do about volumes. I have a dedicated marketing team to help and we are doing billboards and I have lunches, give thank you cards, go to health fairs and radio ads etc. On average I have maybe 18 to 22 patients in clinic on a good day. Unfortunately there is a fair bit of medication management because some of the docs back in the day used to prescribe a decent chunk of opioids, on average I’d say my mme is 23-24 and 30-40 percent are on some opioid. However the problem is from a procedure standpoint I’m probably if lucky doing 18 procedures but on average I’m at 16. I know that is horrible. I’m at the clinic 3.5 days a week and 1 full day of procedures which never ends up being a full day because like I said I’m doing about 16 to 18 injections. There is also probably one or two no-shows on those injection days. What do I do? Is this a normal dip in volume at this time in year 2 to 3 of a clinic? Is there any scope for growth? Anything else anyone here can give me insight on? The hospital system my pain clinic is-based wit