Clinic Laboratory Science/ Medical Technology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

c12H22O11

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have looked around on SDN for any MLS applicants who are also pre-med, but a lot of the topics were a several years old and was wondering if there were other MLS student out there.

My story: I am a daca student ( which means I was provided with a work permit that allowed me to work in the US, but it does not allow for any federal or state financial aid). I attend college fulltime and unfortunately, I am being charged out of state tuition fees at a community college. I am hoping to resolve my citizenship issue soon, according to my lawyer everything will be solved around October 2020-early 2021. I currently work as Patient care tech in an ICU at my local hospital and it has provided me with a steady income to be able to afford school and living on my own. Barely though with lots of overtime and working 2 other jobs.

I was looking at my state university and they have a Medical Technology program that has the same pre-medical requirements for medical school besides Physics ( which I could take on top of the required classes ). By doing this program, I could graduate as an MLS the Spring of 2019. I think this program will be useful because it could provide me with a higher paying job ( which I could use to help my younger sister who will be attending college soon ) and higher clinical understanding of the medical field. and I love the field of Microbiology by the way. By looking at the curriculum of the program, classes such as Clinical Biochem, Clinical Microbiology, Immunology, etc, sound very exciting to me!

I was wondering if this is something you would recommend vs getting another bachelor. ex. Biology, Chemistry, Nursing

Members don't see this ad.