Classes to take in high school

stool

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman and I need help deciding which math and science courses to take.

I don't have too many spots for classes since I'll be taking dental academic courses in junior and senior year which takes up two class periods.

This is what I have currently:
9th grade - Algebra 2 and biology ( no APs allowed for 9th graders at my school)
10th grade - chemistry, pre-calc, AP stats possibly?
11th grade- AP physics, AP biology & not sure about math
12th grade- Human anatomy & not sure about math yet

Are there classes I should or shouldn't take?
If so, what classes do you recommend?
Should I take AP bio or AP chem and is AP stats is really worth taking?

Thanks so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

AP bio is hit or miss but if you get credit = worth it
AP chem -> same but it is tougher = I still say worth it
AP stats is worth it but I'm of the opinion that it's more useful once you've had a calc course. So maybe take AP calc AB (or BC) junior year and stats senior year.

This might not be a popular opinion here but I don't think AP Chem or AP Bio are worth it if you're primarily interested in credit. Many professional programs won't consider them and you'll have to take more difficult classes that'll hurt your GPA in undergrad. I say knock out your social sciences/humanities with AP classes in high school.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
This might not be a popular opinion here but I don't think AP Chem or AP Bio are worth it if you're primarily interested in credit. Many professional programs won't consider them and you'll have to take more difficult classes that'll hurt your GPA in undergrad. I say knock out your social sciences/humanities with AP classes in high school.
Totally agree with this, many med schools don't take AP bio and some don't take AP chem. For sure do AP stats & AP calc AB, maybe AP Psych & AP english or related, possibly AP physics.