Clarification

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kronickm

even par.
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I would just like some good old input/knowledge from you experienced folks.

I am a technician in a blood bank/donor center at a major teaching hospital. In transfusion medicine rounds one day the attending was telling the fellow some ideas for abstract submissions to the A.A.B.B. (American Association of Blood Banks) conference. I decided that I was going to attempt to submit something. With the help of said attending I had a topic and was on my way.

I did all of the research, mostly statistical analysis and such. Note that this did not involve any human subjects and was in the category of blood donor recruitment and retention which is a very important topic in the blood bank industry. The abstract was submitted with me as the primary author and others including this attending in tow.

I should also note that this has not yet been accepted so I am just asking this out of sheer curiosity.

If accepted I will give either an oral or poster presentation at the conference. On top of this the abstracts, and only the abstracts, are printed in a supplement in Transfusion, the journal of transfusion medicine.

I realize that there is a great deal of pomp and circumstance with regard to research and stuff. Basically how would you classify such research on a C.V. or AMCAS or something. Is it just a poster/oral presentation at a conference? Was it published in Transfusion even if it was just the abstract/was just in a supplement and not a real issue? Also, will this stand out as a shining accomplishment to a med school adcom, or just a piece of meaningless application fodder?