Choosing the right specialty

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

med9999

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I am a first year resident. I chose internal medicine not knowing my exact path, just knowing that I did not have passion for surgery or the other residencies. Now as a PGY-1, Ive realized I do not want to be PCP or hospitalist. Also, the specialties I know I do not have interest in are cards, pulm/cc, GI, nephro, rheum, and infectious disease. So out of the ones left: heme/onc, endo, allerg/imm, I have been having a very hard time deciding. I know im just a first year and it takes time to be realize but coming from a small IM program as a DO I want to make sure I have the research and making connections early on.

To be quite honest I feel like I am open to any specialty that will allow me to have a good lifestyle as well as sense of fulfillment and that I am impacting my patient's lives. I have been hearing from a lot of people that endocrine is a "dying off specialty", or heme/onc is "depressing", and allergy/imm "boring", I hear alot of these stigmas when I try to get advice. I feel like I haven't been able to get good advice in choosing my specialty. I would really appreciate if anyone has input or can help,! Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Nothing beats having a rotation in these subspecialties to see if you like it. Everyone is different in terms what they find boring/exciting. I know in my chosen field of Allergy Immunology, there is a lot of gratification impacting quality of life. You don't get that in many fields. Heme One should not be a field you choose because you did not like other specialties, it can be emotionally demanding. Endo will always be in demand because endocrine disorders are here to stay.