Cheapest Optometry school for Canadians & Scholarships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ronzroyce97

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a 4th year Canadian student and I've applied to NECO, ICO, Indiana, and Salus. I've gotten interviews from all schools, and have already attended Salus' interview. I want to know which schools are cheapest for Canadians, and if there is cheaper schools not on my list please list them as well. I know tuition rates and living allowance is all listed, but I'd like some firsthand experience. I also know that schools offer scholarships, the only schools I could actually find information on was ICO and Indiana. My top choices are ICO and NECO. I know some of the scholarships are merit based. These are my stats: 3.64 GPA, 340AA, one year of optometric assistant experience, 60 hours of shadowing. Any feedback/advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi, if you're considering schools that are relatively cheaper than others, definitely take a look at the Michigan College of Optometry, its probably one of the cheapest schools, but has a really good rep also. Plus, the area itself is relatively cheaper to live in. They accept about 38 ish students every year, but it wouldnt hurt to apply!

I also need this haha, the numbers I've seen seem a little terrifying

Does anyone have experience with how much Canadian student loans help out?

Does anyone have experience with how much Canadian student loans help out?

I think that your first option would be get as much from the provincial loans that you can because it doesn't accumulate interest until after you graduate. I know that OSAP (Ontario) provides approx. 7000 per year! Then, the majority of your loans would be a student line of credit and that depends on which bank you decide to go with - i think that TD and RBC have the best ones but I would double-check!

Reactions: 1 user