Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pmarank

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So heres the STATS:
Bio major
3.75 cGPA
3.6 sGPA

No MCAT yet but practice tests indicate that I should be able to hit about a 31

Extra currics:

About 150 hrs volunteering at hospital over summers and breaks
Involved with 3 different clubs on campus (with a leadership role in one)
Illinois resident

I am still a sophmore so this summer I hope to get some shadowing experience. What type of doctors should I shadow? How many hours should I look for? I am also considering dentistry so I hope to also shadow some dentists this summer.

Members don't see this ad.

If you're a sophomore, why oh why are you taking practice tests?

Also, my MCAT score was very different from my practice scores.

Bring up your GPA, and depending on the school you want, get some major research in.

-I'm also an IL resident.

--I did almost no shadowing. I shadowed for about 15 hours total, a pediatrician, an oral/maxillofacial surgeon, and a hospitalist. I emphasized my other ECs more, like working as a CNA/HCT on a Medical floor of a hospital, and as a teaching assistant at my university. My lack of shadowing was barely commented on in just one interview, and I was accepted to that school.
That being said, they did seem to appreciate that I had an idea of what medicine as a field is like, and the lifestyle associated.

Last edited:
So heres the STATS:
Bio major
3.75 cGPA
3.6 sGPA

Extra currics:

Illinois resident

I am still a sophmore so this summer I hope to get some shadowing experience. What type of doctors should I shadow? How many hours should I look for? I am also considering dentistry so I hope to also shadow some dentists this summer.