chances...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TiggidyTooth

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from a 2nd tier university with a degree in economics and took all pre-med courses except physics 2. I finished with a very lack luster gpa of 2.4 mainly due to immaturity and thinking that I was going to go work for a pharmaceutical or biotech company and forget about about medicine or graduate school.

I moved out west and switched gears all of the sudden. I worked as a research assistant for 2 years bagging in a couple publications for a very well respected PI. 1 of which I am first author the rest I am mentioned as second and third. I started volunteering in the ER and volunteer my time with underprivledged kids.

So...I decided to move to my home state to do a do it yourself post-bac at the university of houston. I just finished up physiology and physics 2 recieving an A in both. This fall I'm retaking chem 1 and physics 1, and am diving into genetics and biochem. A similar course load will follow the following semester after which I will take the MCAT. During the year I will be volunteering at a homeless clinic and gaining more valuable experience.

After taking the MCAT in august do I stand a chance at allopathic admissions considering a good showing on test day? Will I still need to complete a Master's in order to get in? Any and all advice will be most helpful in this matter.

Regards,

Tooth

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,