Chances & School Selection 25 mcat 3.95 gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premed13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Just wondering what schools I should Apply to. I'm a NC resident. I do plan on retaking MCAT. Took in April and voided, now very burned out for May 31st MCAT. Cannot concentrate on studying so all bets probably DO school.

MCAT: 9 PS, 8 VR, 8 BS
GPA: 3.95

Shadowing, clinical volunteering, 1+ yr research, outside volunteering

Heres list I think I might apply and would like thoughts:
DO:
DMU
AT still
PCOM
Nova
Touro
CCOM
Edward Via if I can get DO LOR
LECOM if I can get DO LOR

MD:
UNC
ECU
Wake Forest
Loma Linda
George Washington
Georgetown
Howard
Morehouse
Loyola
Mayo
St Louis
Creighton
Drexel
Jefferson
Meharry
Virgina Commonwealth
Tulane
Rosland Franklin
Albany Medical
NY medical

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Are you URM? Do you have some other truly exceptional aspect to your application? If not, applying to some of those MD schools will be a waste.

Just at a glance, you are 4 points below the 10th percentile for Mayo, Loyola, and Georgetown, and probably 3+ for many of the others.

Had you been scoring higher on practice tests? Are you confident you can raise it to at least a 28+? OP you have an exceptional gpa and passable EC's but that mcat will sink you if you apply as is. Just my opinion, but I'd encourage you to hold off applying this cycle until/unless you can raise that 25 to a more competitive score. If you apply and are rejected across the board it will only make things that much more difficult for you the second time around.

Don't get your hopes up. I applied with the same MCAT score and similar stats to almost the same schools on your list and got rejected across the board. Didn't apply to DO schools either. I don't know what I was thinking back then. Don't make the same costly mistake!

Members don't see this ad :)
Yay for NC applicants :)