Chances of Matching in Psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Myopic Med

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a third year student. I'm interested in Psych and FM, but more so in Psych. My COMLEX level 1 score was extremely weak and I am not a strong candidate, so I think my chances are basically shot for Psych, even though it may/may not be rumored to be one of the less competitive specialties. Would it make more sense to apply to all FM programs or to apply to a combination of both? I would be satisfied with being an FM resident, but I feel more strongly inclined to working in Psychiatry, as I really enjoy both the academic and clinical (outpatient and inpatient) aspects of the field.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone! I'm a third year student. I'm interested in Psych and FM, but more so in Psych. My COMLEX level 1 score was extremely weak and I am not a strong candidate, so I think my chances are basically shot for Psych, even though it may/may not be rumored to be one of the less competitive specialties. Would it make more sense to apply to all FM programs or to apply to a combination of both? I would be satisfied with being an FM resident, but I feel more strongly inclined to working in Psychiatry, as I really enjoy both the academic and clinical (outpatient and inpatient) aspects of the field.
Why shoot yourself down before you even try? Psych, while it can be very regionally competitive, overall is not super competitive. You almost certainly can get something if you actually have a legit interest in psych.

Audition at mid to low tier places where you have an interest in doing residency. Work hard, don't be a d-bag, be friendly to the residents, express your interest to the PD. Profit.

Worse case, FM is always there for scramble.

Members don't see this ad :)
*bump*