Chances of Getting into Pharmacy School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sonya123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a Sophomore looking to apply to pharmacy school. I am applying to these pharmacy school in the upcoming month. It doesnt matter to me what pharmacy school i get into. I just hope i do get into one tho.

My cum. gpa is 2.9 and I'm looking to take the pcat and get at least 50th percentile. I volunteered abroad for two months--around 400 hours. I am a devoted leader at my church for the past 5 years. I am wondering if anyone has got into these schools with the stats that i have. I am very nervous about this whole process. I'm scared that i will get shot down. What do you guys think my chances are for getting into these school? Please help me out!!

1. Lecom

2. Midwestern University

3. Northeast Ohio Medical University

4. Chicago State University

5. Roosevelt University

Members don't see this ad.

finish undergrad. get better grades then apply

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
is my chance very low?
i heard people getting in with 2.9s

Please someone help me out with my situation

You just have so much room to improve by completing your degree then applying and increasing your gpa. You want to send the best possible app that you can. From what I remember reading about people that get accepted to pharm programs without a bacc are extremely strong candidates.

To be competitive with that GPA you will need a lot higher than 50% composite on the PCAT. You will need 90% or higher.

I agree with everyone here. You can certainly improve your application by raising your gpa, a strong pcat score (>90%), completing your bacc degree, and having pharmacy work experience. But a 2.9 gpa and pcat score of 50% is subpar.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

Hello everyone,