Chances of getting into a PA program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unknown1995

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, i was wondering if i can get help regarding my chances of being accepted into a PA program. I messed up my first few semesters in college but stepped it up before i graduated. I really want to become a physician assistant. i planning on taking the GRE after July and will also be taking microbiology in the month of july (confidant ill get an A). I know i can score really good in the GRE, I dont care which PA program i get into, as long as i can get into one. Ill have my personal statement reviewed by professionals .

CHEM 1: W, retake B+
CHEM 2: C+
BIO 1: W, retake C
BIO 2: D, retake B-
Physics 1: W, retake A
Physics 2: A-
Organic Chemistry: F, W, D+, A
Organic chemistry 2: B
Biochemistry: C+
Anatomy and physiology: B
Anatomy and physiology 2: B+

cGPA: 2.7 (about 100 credits)
transfer GPA : 3.3 (about 50 credits)
Resume:
TA for organic chemistry 1 and 2 for a year
Research associate for chemistry department for about 400 hours
Volunteered in a hospital for about 350 hours (shadowed a nurse)
Worked (currently) as a Medical assistant and scribe in a private practice for about 300 hours ( i work with a NP and Doctor)

Also, what are some recommended programs that admit students with lower GPA and look more at experience and GRE.

Members don't see this ad.

There's a way for you to become a provider, but it's going to take a while, and it may not be through becoming a PA. As it stands, you are in a tough spot because of your GPA, and the fact that you have so many credits to your name. Doing well on the GRE isn't going to make much of a difference. Look through the threads, there is a lot of good advice for folks with similar stats.