Chances? All feedback is greatly appreciated. (Sorry!)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lovelyemy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm not sure if this is where I should post but I really wanted some guidance as to where I stand. I am currently a biology major in my senior year (but graduating summer 2015 because of extra summer classes to fulfill prereqs). I started off with a 2.5 (I worked full-time so school was difficult to manage) but I brought it up to a 2.8 by my senior year. I know that's not a competitive GPA but I might consider taking extra classes after I graduate and apply the following year.

I have been interning at an optometry office and shadowed for almost 2 years now and have obtained my paraoptometric certification and still work there. I have also shadowed the optician for a while and have a substantial knowledge of lensometry. I have done one summer research internship for Harvard public health school over the summer after my junior year. And I have interned at the museum of science as a plant/insect interpreter. I also wrote a paper on Bioinformatic Analysis of Ventral Anterior Homeobox 2 which is a gene that is tied to astigmatism for one of my informatics classes. I'm looking to find one more internship related to eye care before applying to optometry school.

I took some practice OAT exams and scored lowest 280 and highest 330. I am an awful test taker but one thing that my teachers/ supervisors have always described me as is hard working even though I don't do well on tests. I am more of a hands on learner.

I have a W (withdraw) and one F in my transcript due to medical reasons I missed a while month of school my sophomore year. I retook calculus three times to finally get a C (I never excelled at conceptual math) but I did well in physics.