Chances after one year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StripedTie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello again SDN!

I know this part of the forum is aimed for people about to or in the process of applying to med school, but I received a lot of positive feedback on a thread I started after I received my grades from last semester, and I'm hoping for some people to take their time for additional comments :)

My original post from December is below, but I would like to add my marks from this semester to update it.

Physics I: B-
Gen. Chem II: B
Gen. Chem II Lab: B-
Calculus I: A-
Bio Research Lab: A-
Philosophy: A-

Which leaves me at a GPA of 3.26 after my second semester, and a cumulative 3.06 for my first year of college.

As far as E.C.'s
Research project has been published, I am a second author. Presented at 2 research symposiums (school and regional)
Beginning a new project for the upcoming school year
Tutoring socio-economically disadvantaged children at a local high school in basic math and science (3hrs/week for 2 months)
Continuing to play my club sport (6hrs/week for 9 months)
Continuing my on-campus job (4hrs/week for 9 months)
Have 60+ hours shadowing surgery/trauma at a local hospital (4hrs/week for 3 months)

Most of these will continue when the school year returns. As far as my summer, in addition to retaking Gen Chem I, I am continuing my research project and plan on doing more shadowing.

I know that I am far from where I should be when I apply, but I have a few questions I'd like to ask.

Will adcoms take into account the improvement I have from Precalc to Calc and Gen Chem I to Gen Chem II? What about my overall GPA from my first semester to my second?
Will the drop in my grade in Gen Chem Lab hurt?
Also, I am about to retake Gen Chem I as a summer class (studying my a** off for an A). Will doing well in this class offset the C- I received in in it the first time around?